New Word

Had a fantastic Eid celebration my first as a ‘wife’, hubby had loads of fun playing host and the house was filled with friends and family all day long. It was a little exhausting feeding all those people but at the end of the day it was so worth it.

Last weekend we had to learn a new word in our house, it has changed us and our relationship. New word: Oligospermia 
Low sperm count means that the fluid (semen) you ejaculate during an orgasm contains fewer sperm than normal. Low sperm count is also called oligospermia (ol-ih-go-SPUR-me-uh). We got hubby’s test results and we were bowled over by what we saw. We couldn’t talk bout it right away, I guess we both had to deal with the news separately, then we got talking apparently hubby had been waiting for me to raise the subject and vice versa. We first reassured each other that we were in this together and then we discussed our fears. Hubby feels like it’s better we didn’t know about it cause it changes things and I feel like now we know we can try to fix it. My results haven’t come through yet so we decided to hold out on making any decisions till we know all the facts and get a second opinion.

I’ve been surprisingly calm about accepting the news. I love my hubby to bits and my one fear is that this doesn’t erode his confidence. I cried a bit and haven’t been able to pray till this morning but besides that there’s a calm confidence that we’ll be fine and we will have kids. All the research I’ve done on the Internet says we have a slim chance I’m willing to bet on that. We see our doctor on Monday and I’m hoping for some encouraging news 🙂

4 thoughts on “New Word

Leave a Reply

