The Road to Discovery

I had all these dreams of who I wanted to be and what I wanted to accomplish, I would say to myself that I had ‘the curse’ of the truly gifted. Don’t get me wrong I am gifted but I’m realizing now that all the things I wanted, I wanted for the wrong reasons. I wanted to be famous, to be the girl everyone wanted to be friends with, I wanted to be admired, to be associated with greatness. In all of these things a little very much ignored voice kept telling me that all I was looking for was love.
Now I have found the kind of love that accepts me with my faults and all I’m beginning to see that I didn’t need to prove anything to anyone but myself. Feels like I’m playing catch up to who I really am and that kinda sucks cause I’m 30 already, makes me wonder at all my life choices. I know I still feel a need to be accepted but it’s not as bad as it used to be.
I’m slowly but surely learning to accept me as I am warts and all.
I’m beginning to find joy in the little things to discover the ME I want to be not the ME I think I’m supposed to be

One thought on “The Road to Discovery

  1. Pingback: the gift and the curse « underground

Leave a Reply

